Meet the Radiation Medicine Team

Radiation Oncology Physicians

Radiation oncologists are physicians who are responsible for the medically appropriate and technically correct radiation treatment of patients with cancer. All of our radiation oncologists are board-certified in therapeutic radiology by the American Board of Radiology, licensed by the New York State Department of Health, and comply with the American College of Radiology standards of care.

Michael Kuettel, MD, PhD, MBA, Chair, Department of Radiation Medicine
Saif Aljabab, MD
Varun Chowdhry, MD – Southtowns Radiation Oncology, Orchard Park, NY
Simon Fung-Kee-Fung, MD
Jorge Gomez, MD
Gregory Hare, MD – Olean General Hospital, Olean, NY
Nadia Malik, MD
David Mattson, Jr., MD
John Powell, MD – Cayuga Medical Center, Ithaca, NY
Dheerendra Prasad, MD, MCh, FACRO
Anurag Singh, MD
Shilpa Vyas, MD – Oneida Health Center, Oneida, NY

The Medical Physics Team

Our board-certified medical physicists are an important part of our multidisciplinary Radiation Medicine team, designing and maintaining the quality assurance of every individual treatment plan. They ensure that information has been correctly transferred to the machine, that the plan agrees with the physician’s prescription, and that all information is consistent, understandable and well-documented. They also contribute to the development of therapeutic techniques and collaborate with team members to design treatment plans.

Matthew B. Podgorsak, PhD, Chief Medical Physicist
Steven F. de Boer, MSc
Mohammed Jermoumi, PhD
Lalith K. Kumaraswamy, MSc, DABR
Anh Le, PhD
Harish K. Malhotra, PhD, DABR
Daryl P. Nazareth, PhD
Sanjay Raina, PhD, MSc – Cayuga Medical Center, Ithaca, NY
Zhou (Iris) Wang, PhD

The Medical Dosimetry Team

Medical dosimetrists are professionals who design radiation treatment plans specific to each cancer patient’s prescription as determined by the radiation oncologist. This is done with state-of-the-art 3-dimensional graphics and patient imaging collaboration with other radiation oncology professionals.

Lee Hales, CMD, Chief Medical Dosimetrist
Lee Culp, CMD, RTT
Morgan Ennis, CMD
Jeremy Garvin, CMD
Michael Griffin, CMD
Lisa Hackett, CMD – Southtowns Radiation Oncology, Orchard Park, NY
Carin R. Jordan, CMD RTT
Virginia G. Lazarov, CMD RTT
Eduardo Leon, MD
Lisa Ogle, CMD – Olean General Hospital, Olean, NY
Vanessa Rundle, CMD – Oneida Health Center, Oneida, NY
Jacqueline S. Zielan, CMD RTT

Physician Assistants

Kelsey Bezon
Leayn T. Flaherty
Kathleen B. McLaughlin
Adam R. Oberkircher
Brian P. Sullivan
Valerie A. Stilb

Radiation Therapy Team

Radiation therapists plan and deliver the prescribed course of radiation therapy. Roswell Park has 15 full-time board-certified radiation therapists.

Jeanette Hardwick, RTT, BS, MBA, Supervising Radiation Therapist
Larry Alford, RTT
Gina Bellreng, RTT
Jennifer L. Buil, RTT
Patricia M. Chapin, RTT
Maria Durlak, RTT
Hannah Eklund, RTT
Nathan Groff, RTT
Tracy M. Hails, RTT
Julianne Hanes, RTT
Teresa L. Kishel, RTT
Jamie Luby, RTT
Deborah L. Maving, RTT
Bohdan Nazarevych, RTT
Joseph Pagano, RTT
Angela Szczygiel, RTT
Amy L. Thompson, RTT

Radiation Medicine Nurses

Shirley Crawley, RN
Brian Desmaris, RN
Michele L. Holtz, RN
Mary Elizabeth Jurca, RN
Tabatha McCabe, LPN
Caitlin Morgante, RN