RPCI Cancer Talk

Friday, June 20, 2014 - 2:55pm

When facing a cancer diagnosis, many people turn to their faith to cope. This can be a confusing and difficult time, and religion offers some patients a way to find hope and answers. Spirituality often provides a framework that helps patients make sense of their diagnosis.

Wednesday, June 4, 2014 - 3:44pm

If you listen to National Public Radio, it’s likely you’ve heard about StoryCorps, the non-profit initiative that gives Americans the chance to share their most meaningful stories and life experiences through personal recorded interviews.

Monday, June 2, 2014 - 2:24pm

Cholangiocarcinoma. It’s a complicated word you may not have heard before, but it’s just another term for bile duct cancer.

Friday, May 30, 2014 - 2:14pm

Music heals in a variety of important ways.

Thursday, May 29, 2014 - 8:36am

I visited my first tanning salon at age 16. In high school I was a cheerleader, and I felt that being tan for games made me look skinnier in my uniform. My friend’s mom owned a tanning salon and always gave us a discount to tan. I even got a job working at a tanning salon for a couple of years.

Sunday, May 18, 2014 - 9:28am

On the afternoon of Monday, March 31, I headed from my usual post as a chemo-infusion nurse at RPCI’s Amherst Center to our main campus in Buffalo, NY.

Saturday, May 17, 2014 - 1:29pm

I began my fight against cancer in the spring of 2008. I was a 20-year-old junior at the University at Buffalo and a standout shot putter for the track and field team.

Thursday, May 15, 2014 - 8:12am

For women whose breast cancer treatment includes a mastectomy, surgical breast reconstruction can be key to not just their physical recovery, but emotional health as well.

Wednesday, May 14, 2014 - 4:56pm

May marks a special time at Roswell Park as we formally honor our outstanding nursing staff during Oncology Nurses Month.

Friday, May 9, 2014 - 4:06pm

Motherhood changes your life—physically, emotionally, mentally. But did you know becoming a mother can have an impact on your risk of breast cancer, too?