The DSOCOC Research Team

This consortium unites four top teams of ovarian cancer researchers in an unprecedented collaboration aimed at enabling early detection — and prevention — of many ovarian cancers. Funded by a developmental grant from the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD), the initiative brings together researchers from both government and academic centers to apply emerging technologies to this pressing challenge to discover biomarkers for early detection of ovarian cancer.

Co- Principal Investigators

Kunle Odunsi, MD, PhD, FRCOG, FACOG
Deputy Director
Chair, Department of Gynecologic Oncology
The M. Steven Piver Professor of Gynecologic Oncology
Executive Director, Center for Immunotherapy
Co-Leader, Tumor Immunology and Immunotherapy Program
Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center
Larry Maxwell, MD - Inova
Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology
co-PI for the Department of Defense (DoD) Gynecologic Cancer Center of Excellence (GYN-COE)
Inova Fairfax Women’s Hospital

The consortium is comprised of the GYN-COE and Women’s Health Integrated Research Center at Inova along with three ovarian research teams nationally that are part of the National Cancer Institute’s Specialized Programs of Research Excellence (SPORE) initiative:

Roswell Park Team 

Sebastiano Battaglia, MD
Assistant Professor of Oncology
Center for Immunotherapy
Alan Hutson, PhD, MA
Chair, Department of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics
Song Liu, PhD
Director, Bioinformatics Resource
Vice Chair for Bioinformatics
Leader for Bioinformatics, Center for Personalized Medicine
Professor of Oncology
Junko Matsuzaki, PhD
Director, Immune Analysis Facility
Assistant Professor of Oncology
Center for Immunotherapy
Qianqian Zhu, PhD
Biostatistics and Statistical Genomics Division
Emese Zsiros, MD, PhD, FACOG
Assistant Professor of Oncology
Gynecologic Oncology
Kirsten Moysich, PhD, MS
Professor of Oncology
Cancer Prevention and Control
Kristen Anton
Kristen Anton, MS.
Biostatistics & Bioinformatics
Matthew Buas, PhD
Assistant Professor of Oncology
Cancer Prevention and Control

Collaborating Partners 

    Investigators from collaborating sites: Nicholas Bateman, PhD, (Inova), Thomas Conrads, PhD (Inova), Kathleen Darcy, PhD, (Inova), Esther Eliashev, MD (UPCI), Ellen Goode, PhD, (Mayo Clinic), Richard Hajek, PhD (MDACC), Nagarajan Kannan, PhD (Mayo Clinic), Sanghoon Lee, PhD (MDACC), Hu Li, PhD (Mayo Clinic), Jinsong Liu, MD (MDACC), Alejandro Rauh-Hain, MD, MPH (MDACC), Chen Wang, PhD (Mayo Clinic)

    The consortium is also guided by the input of a six-member Patient Advisory Council chaired by Mary Jackson Scroggins, MA, and will work closely with the Society of Gynecologic Oncology and patient advocacy groups around the country.