Biostatistics and Bioinformatics

Welcome to The Department of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics

The Department of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics houses the CCSG Biostatistics Core Resource, Austin Miller, PhD, Director and Kristopher Attwood, PhD, Associate Director; the Bioinformatics Core Resource, Song Liu, PhD, Director and Jianmin Wang, PhD, Co-Director; the Statistical Genetics and Genomics Resource, Qianqian Zhu, PhD, Director; and the Biomedical Data Science Network, William Duncan, PhD, MS, Director.

The MS program in Bioinformatics and Biostatistics is administered through the University at Buffalo School of Public Health and Health Professions, Department of Biostatistics. For questions about program requirements or curriculum, please contact Noreen McGuire, Graduate Program Coordinator, at noreenm@buffalo.edu or 716-829-6142.

The Department also has a close working relationship with the Buffalo Office of the NRG Oncology Statistics and Data Management Center, also located at RPCI. Department faculty members have expertise in computational intensive statistical methods, clinical trial design and analysis, statistical genetics and genomics, bioinformatics, applied systems biology modeling and epidemiological study design and analysis.

Chair
Alan Hutson, MA, PhD

Alan Hutson, MA, PhD
Chair, Department of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics

Contact

To request biostatistical support, please place a request using LIMS.

Austin Miller, PhD
Director, Biostatistics Resource
Tel:  716-845-4029
austin.miller@roswellpark.org

Kristopher Attwood, PhD
Associate Director, Biostatistics Resource
Phone: 716-845-1300,x5656
kristopher.attwood@roswellpark.org

Song Liu, PhD
Vice Chair for Bioinformatics, Director, Bioinformatics Resource
Phone: 716-845-1628
song.liu@roswellpark.org

Jianmin Wang, PhD
Co-Director, Bioinformatics Resource
Phone: 716-845-1499
jianmin.wang@roswellpark.org

Kristen Anton
Director of Biomedical Informatics
Phone: 716-845-5593
kristen.anton@roswellpark.org

William Duncan, PhD, MS
Assistant Member (Clinical Research)
Phone: 716-845-5283
william.duncan@RoswellPark.org

Qianqian Zhu, PhD
Director, Statistical Genetics & Genomics Resource
Phone: 716-845-1300,x5659
qianqian.zhu@roswellpark.org

Pamela Jarrett
Administrative Aide
Phone: 716-845-1466
pamela.jarrett@roswellpark.org

Meegan Michalek Becker, MA
Department Administrator
Phone: 716-845-1090
meegan.becker@roswellpark.org

 

Biomedical Data Science Resource

The Biomedical Data Science Shared Resorce (BDS) provides data services to investigators in support of translational research at Roswell Park Cancer Institute. The primary focus of the BDS is to provide structured access to and use of real-time reliable clinical data for the advancement of non-interventional studies at Roswell Park Cancer Institute. The BDS provides the infrastructure and processes to establish and monitor data standards, quality, integration, and distribution across RPCI. The BDS office develops and implements tools and methods to streamline the collection, storage, processing, and distribution of data to researchers.

Statistical Genetics & Genomics Resource

The goal of the Statistical Genetics & Genomics Resource (SGGR) group, headed by Qianqian Zhu, PhD, is to develop a sustainable and nationally recognized Biotechnical Analytic Resource for Roswell Park Cancer Institute (RPCI). The mission of the analytic resource will be to develop novel statistical methodologies and software applications for the analysis of data generated by experiments utilizing emerging biotechnologies. Further, SGGR will assist in the development and optimal design of nascent biotechnologies at RPCI.