Quality Outcomes Accolades

Roswell Park Cancer Institute has received the following certifications, designations and awards:

Commission on Cancer

Established by the American College of Surgeons (ACoS) in 1922, the multidisciplinary Commission on Cancer establishes standards to ensure quality, multidisciplinary, and comprehensive cancer care delivery in health care settings; conducts surveys in health care settings to assess compliance with those standards; collects standardized data from CoC-accredited health care settings to measure cancer care quality; uses data to monitor treatment patterns and outcomes and enhance cancer control and clinical surveillance activities, and develops effective educational interventions to improve cancer prevention, early detection, cancer care delivery, and outcomes in health care settings.

Magnet Hospital

Roswell Park earned Magnet designation in 2010, which is an honor given to celebrate excellence in nursing care. In total, there are 392 Institutions that meet these criteria, and Roswell Park is one of only 20 magnet centers located in New York State. According to the American Nurses Credentialing Center, a Magnet Hospital can expect increased patient satisfaction, decreased mortality rates, decreased pressure ulcers, decreased falls and improved patient safety and quality.

US News and World Report Top Hospital

Out of 900 participating hospitals in the United States, Roswell Park was ranked #41 in the nation in regard to cancer for the year of 2013. These scores are tabulated by combining scores that rely on: Reputation with other specialists, survival, patient safety, and other care related indicators.

NCI Designated Cancer Center

We are one of 68 Nationally Designated Cancer Centers through the National Cancer Institute (NCI). This means that we are one of a select few hospitals who are able to translate the latest scientific knowledge into the cutting edge cancer treatments of tomorrow. Simply put, this designation allows for newer treatments to be available to patients that do not exist in the regular community hospital setting.

Joint Commission Accreditation

A hospital needs to be an accredited Institution in the eyes of CMS to be eligible for reimbursement for Medicaid reimbursement. The Joint Commission is a regulatory body that provides this eligibility to hospitals, and does so by confirming that the Hospital is practicing in a manner that is safe for their patients. This is a process which includes an annual review of standards, and every third year an intensive survey is conducted where Joint Commission surveyors conduct an on-site review that covers all levels of care that can impact a patient. This includes but is not limited to, the hospital’s building being up to code for fire safety, proper documentation and care being received for patients and even reviewing policies and procedures of the Institution.

Joint Commission Palliative Care Certification

A new program being offered through the Joint Commission, Roswell Park was an early adopter of the Palliative Care Certification, completing this certification shortly after it was offered in 2011. The Palliative Care Program at Roswell Park is one that engages patients throughout their care, allowing for the patient and their family to be actively involved in the choices for their care. These choices include, but are not limited to symptom management when undergoing treatment, choosing the path of care that best matches the patient’s wishes and planning for end of life care, whenever that arises. This certification is achieved by yearly monitoring and a bi-annual on-site visit where a Joint Commission surveyor reviews the program.

Leapfrog Top Hospital

The Leapfrog Survey is a national survey that was driven by the nation’s largest employers to help achieve breakthroughs in safety, quality and affordability for their employees. Founded in 2000, Roswell Park was an early adopter of this survey to identify opportunities to improve. Roswell Park was named to Leapfrog's Top Hospitals list from 2010–2012.

National Comprehensive Cancer Network

The National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) is a not-for-profit alliance of 21 of the world’s leading cancer centers. Experts from NCCN Member Institutions diagnose and treat all cancers, particularly complex, aggressive or uncommon cancers. More than 160,000 new patients receive cancer care at NCCN Member Institutions over the course of each year. Thirty-eight Nobel Prize winners have served on the faculties of NCCN Member Institutions. Read the Roswell Park NCCN Member Institution Profile.

Partnership for Patients

Roswell Park participates in the Partnership for Patients, which is a group of 3,700 participating hospitals that focus on making care safer for their patients. This group shares best practices to help participating hospitals attempt to decrease things such as, adverse drug events, Catheter-Associated Urinary Tract Infections, Central Line Blood Stream Infections, Injuries from Falls and Pressure Ulcers, among others. The Partnership is looking for this collaboration to decrease preventable hospital acquired conditions by 40 percent by the end of 2013 when comparing to 2010.