Physician Residency Program

The goal of our residency program is to produce exceptionally trained and highly sought after radiation oncologists who will become leaders in the field. To that end, we strive to provide the most comprehensive educational experience which emphasizes both clinical excellence and academic achievement.

Current Residents

Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center has six residents in training. There will be two incoming resident in 2020.

Gregory Hermann, MD — PGY 5

Kavitha Prezzano, MD — PGY 5

Maryann Mikucki, MD, PhD — PGY 4

Amit Sood, MD — PGY 4

Mark Farrugia, MD, PhD — PGY 3

Sung Jun Ma, MD — PGY 2

Program Director, David Mattson Jr., MD, with two residents.

Residency Program Director

David Mattson Jr., MD
Email: David.Mattson@RoswellPark.org

Residency Program Coordinator

Michelle Wahl
Email: Michelle.Wahl@RoswellPark.org

Faculty Physicians

There are twelve faculty physicians. Eight physicians are located at the main Roswell Park campus in Buffalo, NY, where the entirety of the training is located. There are four additional faculty at satellite locations in Olean, NY, Ithaca, NY, Oneida, NY and Orchard Park, NY.

Saif Aljabab, MD
Email: Saif.Aljabab@RoswellPark.org

Varun Chowdhry, MD (Orchard Park, NY)
Email: Varun.Chowdhry@RoswellPark.org

Simon Fung-Kee-Fung, MD
Email: Simon.Fung@RoswellPark.org

Jorge Gomez, MD
Email: Jorge.Gomez@RoswellPark.org

Gregory Hare, MD (Olean, NY)
Email: Gregory.Hare@RoswellPark.org

Michael Kuettel, MD, MBA, PhD (Chair)
Email: Michael.Kuettel@RoswellPark.org

Nadia Malik, MD
Email: Nadia.Malik@RoswellPark.org

David Mattson Jr, MD
Email: David.Mattson@RoswellPark.org

John Powell, MD (Ithaca, NY)
Email: John.Powell@RoswellPark.org

Dheerendra Prasad, MD
Email: Dheerendra.Prasad@RoswellPark.org

Anurag Singh, MD
Email: Anurag.Singh@RoswellPark.org

Shilpa Vyas, MD (Oneida, NY)
Email: Shilpa.Vyas@RoswellPark.org

Resident alumni Tim Wagner, Ying Li, Susie McCloskey, Brigid O'Connor and Kilian Salerno met up at the 2015 American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) conference.

Resident Alumni Physicians

As of 2019, we have graduated 19 residents and achieved a board pass rate of 100%. 

2003 - Tom Gergel is in private practice in Pennsylvania.

2003 - Ying Hitchcock is Residency Program Director for Huntsman Cancer Center, Salt Lake City, UT.

2004 - Gregory Hare, MD is Director, Radiation Medicine at the Milliman Radiation Medical Center, Olean General Hospital, Olean, NY

2005 - Patrick Tripp is in academic medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA.

2006 - Brigid O'Connor is in private practice at a Brown University satellite.

2007 - Tim Wagner is in academic practice at Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX.

2008 - Ying Li is in academic practice at UT San Antonio.

2009 - Susie McCloskey is in academic practice at UCLA.

2010 - Kilian Salerno practiced at Roswell Park.

2011 - Luqman Dad is in private practice in Maryland.

2011 - Shane Hopkins is in private practice in Iowa.

2012 - Nadia Malik, Abu Dhabi, UAE

2012 - Sachin Patil is in private practice in Houston, TX.

2013 - Richard Lee is in private practice in Honolulu, HI.

2015 - Simon Fung-Kee-Fung practices at Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center.

2016 - Michael Mix practices at Upstate Medical University.

2016 - Saju Rajan practices at the Cleveland Clinic.

2017 - No graduates

2018 - Ami Patel-Yadav practices at Advanced Radiation Oncology Associates, Bethlehem, PA

2019 - Charlotte Rivers practices at Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC